My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Work, Levin, Reading Update May 30, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 5:08 am

Work: I started my summer internship today.  I was late because the first two trains that came were full, but after that the day got better.  I'm doing legal research, just like any other summer job, but at least it is on an interesting subject.  I like all of my fellow law clerks.  I have my own office – though it felt a bit lonely.  The office took all of the clerks out to lunch today.  It was actually nice out, so we got to eat outside.  It sounds like we are going to get to do some interesting things this summer and learn a lot.

Levin: I went to an ACS event at one of the law firms this afternoon and I got to hear Senator Carl Levin speak.  If you look back to my March 31 post, you will see that I have now heard both of my US Senators speak this year.  I think it's funny that I had to come all the way to California to see Levin, though.  He usually comes to my school each year, but he's busy being the rock star of a Senator he is.  He mostly spoke about the Guantanamo detainees, the US's bad reputation, and the "war on terrorism."  It was very interesting.

Reading: I'm still working on Frankenstein, Reading Lolita, and Prisoner of Azkaban (which I'm hoping to finish tomorrow so that I can count it in my May book count).  I preordered my copy of HP 7 yesterday.  I found a book store that opens at 8 so that I can go first thing in the morning – I'm not doing the midnight thing this time.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

 

One Response to “Work, Levin, Reading Update”

  1. Kristie Says:

    I'm glad your stay in San Francisco is starting out as a good one :o)


Leave a Reply

