My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Extreme Heat June 6, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 5:37 am

After tonight, I will never complain about San Francisco being cold again (well, that's probably not true, but…).  I went to Bikram Yoga for the first time with Nicole.  For those unfamiliar with Bikram Yoga, it is a set series of postures done over 1 1/2 hours in 100 plus degree temperatures.  It may be one of the hardest things I've ever done.  But I feel great now and I think I'm going to go back tomorrow.  I went to a ballet class in the city on Saturday (which was absolutely insane compared to my normal proper ballet classes), but this was so much more of a workout.  I think I'm going to try to do a little of both while I'm out here to make up for the fact that I sit a desk for 8 hours a day.

More info about Bikram Yoga

In other news, Ben got his placement for next year.  He will be teaching at Tarpon Springs High School in Tarpon Springs, Florida.  Apparently known for it's Greek culture, TS was also a big sponging community back in the day.  Hence, Ben's mascot –> a sponger.  I can't decide how that compares to our high school mascot – The Dreadnaughts (it's a war ship).  He's very excited to know where he will be and is already busy apartment hunting.  He knows that he will have Level 4 (Senior) Lit, but he isn't sure what the rest of his schedule will be yet.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

 

3 Responses to “Extreme Heat”

  1. Dominique Says:

    I've always wanted to have a go at Bikram yoga, it sounds really, really hard though. I wonder if many people pass out under the heat?

  2. Michelle Says:

    No one passed out in my class. They encourage you to just sit down for a pose if you are feeling light-headed. I realized that I felt the worst when we were just standing between poses. I felt better when I was actually in them. And the last half is floor exercises, so it isn't as bad (and if you pass out, at least you are already on the floor). You should try it.

  3. Dominique Says:

    If I can find one in my area I think I might 🙂


Leave a Reply

