My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

School begins, pleasure reading ends… September 9, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 1:36 am

I started school this week.  I like all of my classes, but it seems like I am going to have a lot of work this semester despite being a 3L.  So I put down Persuasion for awhile.  I might try an easier book if I think I have the time.  I may give The Golden Compass a try since I want to read it before the movie comes out.

I'm taking a seminar this semester and we have to read a book each week.  So at least I'll still get to read something other than cases.  And most of them sound interesting.  Here is the booklist:

  • A Theory of Justice – Rawls
  • Republic – Plato
  • Sand County Almanac – Leopold
  • Mountains without Handrails – Sax
  • Big Bang – Singh
  • Feast of Love – Baxter
  • The Girls of Summer – Longman
  • This is Your Brain on Music – Levitin
  • The Hungry Ocean – Greenlaw
  • The Idea of the Holy – Otto
  • My Life in France – Child
  • Falling Behind – Frank
  • Finding Flow – Csikszentmihalyi
  • Mountains beyond Mountains – Kidder

In other news, I'm in the market for a new college football team since mine forgot how to play football this year (and such high expectations – #5 – a couple weeks ago).  Any suggestions?  Or else I'll just focus on the Tigers.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

2 Responses to “School begins, pleasure reading ends…”

  1. Emily Says:

    You get to read My LIfe in France for a class!? Very cool! That is one of my favorite memoirs – very beautiful and fun to read. I hope you enjoy it!

  2. Kristie Says:

    Haha, Michigan definitely did very poorly. But I don't really know much about college football except for OSU (Nick's favourite team) and my own, BGSU (and that's only about if we won a game or not). So, no recommendations for new NCAA teams, but stick with your Tigers :o)


Leave a Reply

