My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

QotD: Back In The News – O.J. Simpson September 18, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 10:21 pm
Tags:

O.J. Simpson is back in the news again.  What are your thoughts on the release of "If I Did It" and his recent arrest?

My mom got to hear this rant earlier today, but I thought it needed a wider audience.

I don't care about OJ Simpson.  I also don't care about most of the other "news" these days.  I turn on the news every morning.  Sometimes I'll put on the local channels, sometimes CNN.  And I hardly ever hear about news that I actually care about or news that has any importance in the world.  It makes me so upset when a stupid celebrity story bumps an actual news story about the country, world, politics, the economy, etc.  It makes me have little faith in my fellow Americans who obviously care more about these stories based on the popular hits on the news websites.  All I want is the actual news.  I don't think that's too much to ask for.  But I can't find a source (other than a newspaper, which I hate to admit, I just don't have time to read – I like to watch the news while getting ready in the morning) that will give it to me without all of this other "news."  The Daily Show is probably the best source of real news that I know of, and that is a fake news show!  Remember when MTV started playing too many shows and not enough music videos so they created MTV2 (which also consists of mostly shows now, but…)?  I think we need to do that with the news channels, too.  Like MSNBC2 or CNN2.  Or maybe I can find someone who will just read the newspaper to me in the morning while I get ready…

Any thoughts?

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

4 Responses to “QotD: Back In The News – O.J. Simpson”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I lost faith in CNN when they were showing live footage of Paris being brought back to jail…

  2. Dominique Says:

    Yeah I have very little faith in news broadcasting, I only watch the public broadcaster channels for news here, which generally have more world news and more in depth analysis than other stations. It's a pretty big thing though, in my degree we are constantly hearing about audience disillusionment with the news and it really is sad there's not many good sources out there. I agree with the comedy show being a good source of news, I think the same about one of our comedy shows, it's way more informative but it's a complete comedy. Pretty sad when that surpasses the "real" news programs. The funniest thing is the youtube video of
    MSNBC's Mika Brzezinski making a huge thing of having to cover Paris, she tries to set the copy alight. Probably everyone has already seen it but: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAcU3HSMKPU

  3. Kristie Says:

    I felt this same way with the Laci Peterson story. I know that the only reason it made it on the news and stayed there for so long was because the news was "slow." Do you honestly think that Scott Peterson is the only one who has "killed" (I'm not saying he did or didn't) his pregnant wife? I doubt it, so why so much coverage? And let of the Britney Spears and Paris Hilton stuff, I could care less. I only ever look at anything "news" like through my school paper, which isn't the best, and I usually only look at the headlines if that. So, while OJ Simpson and Britney Spears are on the front page, what's happening in Jena, Louisiana where racism is rearing it's ugly head and white kids are able to get away with almost murder? If I hadn't browsed my school paper the other day, I'd never have heard it. I think I need to write my own little rant lol Sorry for this being so long

  4. Michelle Says:

    I'm glad that you guys all feel the same way that I do. Should we start a movement? Like "Bring Back the (Real) News!"I tried MSNBC this morning instead of CNN and I found it a little better. There was still a lot of OJ, but there was also some coverage of the Jena 6 (they even talked to Jesse Jackson) and about Iraq. The only reason I heard about the Jena thing awhile ago was because I happen to go to a school of informed students who email out important stories (and also unimportant stories). I think a story like that should take top billing over OJ or Britney or Paris). I think with the OJ thing, they are trying to bring back the media storm of 1994/1995, but it just isn't the same. They even had the helicopter shot of him in his car which was reminiscent of the bronco "chase."Everyone who asks me what I think about OJ (which is actually a lot of people) gets this same answer I posted above. I think people are going to stop asking me what I think about the news soon. So I apologize to my mom, dad, Ben, and everyone else for my ranting.


Leave a Reply

