My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

The Mind of a Litterer September 20, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 8:11 pm

I was walking down South U a little while ago and noticed all kinds of trash on the sidewalk, street, and grass.  Now I can understand (even though I don't condone) the people who throw their cigarette butts on the ground or the people who inadvertantly drop a piece of paper on the ground and then leave it there, but what I can't understand are the intentional litterers.  The people who must think, "well, that pop was good, what should I do with the cup?, throw it on the ground?, yeah, that sounds like a good idea."  Or the people driving in their car who think that throwing their entire McDonald's bag out the window is totally acceptable.  I'm just not sure where these people come from or who raised them.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

2 Responses to “The Mind of a Litterer”

  1. Kristie Says:

    Yeah, I don't understand how some of that happens either. I think Michigan is the same as Ohio as far as $500 fine for littering, but it's hardly ever caught in the act. I mean, I've never actually seen someone throw garbage out of their car on the highway, but obviously it happens.

  2. Michelle Says:

    I saw someone throw their fast food bag out the window this summer and I was amazed. I just can't imagine doing that.


Leave a Reply

