My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Missing the Sunshine State October 17, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 9:07 pm

I was putting groceries away this afternoon when I heard someone on tv ask if any married couples ever lived apart (It was 7th Heaven, please don't ask why I had that on).  I laughed because, as you all know, that is exactly what Ben and I are doing right now.  But I'm not surprised this guy on tv was curious – it isn't normal and it kind of sucks.

I just spent the last 5 days in Florida.  We got Monday and Tuesday off school for fall break, so I flew (heavily medicated) down there  to visit.  It was a great weekend.  Aside from going out Saturday night with friends, we didn't do much.  We relaxed, napped, he worked while I napped some more, watched some football/baseball, and just hung out.  It was really nice.  I didn't want to go home.  Home meant school, impending cold weather, and being away from Ben.  But figuring I might as well finish my last year of school, I returned.  And now I won't see Ben until Thanksgiving – that's 5 weeks from now.  😦

Moral of the story: when you get married, you should live with your husband (or wife) – it makes life a whole lot better.

EDIT: Having money would also make the long distance thing easier.  More money = more plane tickets.  Less money = fewer plane tickets  😦

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

2 Responses to “Missing the Sunshine State”

  1. Kristie Says:

    I would definitely hate doing that! Especially so soon in a marriage (I'm assuming you haven't been married quite that long), I think it would be tough. I bet it seems unfair, huh?

  2. Michelle Says:

    We'll be married 3 years in January, so we got a good 2 and 1/2 years in before living apart. But it still sucks.


Leave a Reply

