My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

The same “old” question October 19, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 11:49 pm

I went to get a library card today (yes, that's right, I didn't have one yet) and when I told the woman at the desk why I was there, she says, "Are you over 18?"  And it wasn't a generic question, she really thought that I might not be old enough to have my own library card.  Is this ever going to end?  Am I still going to get carded when I'm 50?  I'd really like to look my age…

PS – I'm 24.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

5 Responses to “The same “old” question”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    haha the same thing happens to me.

  2. Paige Says:

    The same thing happens to my sister (she's also 24). I just turned 20 and some people still think I'm 15. It does get frustrating, but my mom always tells us that we'll appreciate it when we're older. I suppose she's prolly right.

  3. Michelle Says:

    That's what people tell me. But I keep getting older and people keep thinking that I'm the same age…

  4. Kristie Says:

    This happens to me as well. I'm 20, and I still get carded sometimes when I try to get into a R rated movie–that's 3 years younger than me! I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I don't wear make-up because I see it as a hassle (right now in my life), so I'm perceived as younger. And I agree with Paige's mom…I realize it might be an advantage later in life :o)

  5. Michelle Says:

    I think I've finally surpassed the getting carded at the movies phase (only 7 years later). Although I did get carded when I was trying to buy an explicit lyric cd at meijer last year (can't remember what cd would have had explicit lyrics). And the only time I don't get carded when I drink is the one bar where they know me.Funny story: When I was at the beach in Florida in August, an 11-yr-old joined our game of 500. Someone told her that everyone there was a teacher except for me. And she says, "I didn't think she was a teacher. She looks like she's 16." Man, did that get a laugh from our new friends who had never witnessed my age problem before. I tried explaining to the girl that I wasn't teacher not because I wasn't old enough but that I had chosen a different career path, but there was no hope…


Leave a Reply

