My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Books Read – 2007 edition January 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 3:14 pm

I read 44 books this year, but I didn't finish my first book until the end of February so really it was only 10 months or so.  I used to have a hard time reading during the school year.  After reading cases all day, the last thing I wanted to do was read for fun.  But I was able to this year as a result of the combination of not caring about school and the motivation of Rory's Book Club.

  • Dreams
    from My Father by Barrack Obama
  • The
    Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
  • The
    Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  • The
    Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Life of
    Pi by Yann Martel
  • A Great
    and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
  • Cat’s
    Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut
  • Harry
    Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling (re-read)
  • Special
    Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl
  • Harry
    Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling (re-read)
  • Harry
    Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling (re-read)
  • Reading
    Lolita in Tehran
    by Azar Nafisi
  • Frankenstein
    by Mary Shelly
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling (re-read)
  • So Many Books, So Little Time by Sara Nelson
  • Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
  •  Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling (re-read) 
  • That Summer in Paris by Morley Callaghan
  • On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling (re-read) 
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling 
  • Dorothy Parker: What Fresh Hell is This? by Marion Meade
  • Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
  • The Other Boleyn Girl by Phillipa Gregory
  • Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
  • The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
  • Dead Souls by Nikolai Gogol
  • Magyk by Angie Sage

  •  The Sand County Almanac by Aldo Leopold (for school)
  • Mountains without Handrails by Joseph Sax (for school)
  • Big Bang by Simon Singh (for school) 
  • The Feast of Love by Charles Baxter (for school)
  • The Girls of Summer by Jere Longman (for school) 
  • This is Your Brain on Music by Daniel J. Levitin (for school)
  • Antigone by Sophocles (for school)
  • The Polysyllabic Spree by Nick Hornby
  • The Hungry Ocean by Linda Greenlaw (for school)
  • Rebel Angels by Libba Bray 
  • New Moon by Stephanie Meyer
  • My Life in France by Julia Child (for school)

  • Finding Flow: The Psychology of Engagement with Everyday Life by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (for school)
  • Falling Behind by Robert H. Frank (for school) 
  • Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder (for school) 
  • Atonement by Ian McEwan 
  • Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer
  • The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

3 Responses to “Books Read – 2007 edition”

  1. Natalie Says:

    I've been thinking about buying The Other Boleyn Girl. Was it good? I've seen the preview for it and would really like to get the book finished before I read the movie.I did pretty good in 2007. I read 47. I've already started my list for this year. Day 2 and I'm on book 2.

  2. Michelle Says:

    I'm on book 2, too. 🙂 The Other Boleyn Girl was pretty good. I don't think it was as good as some people claimed it was. But it was a pretty quick, enjoyable read.

  3. sharkcrow Says:

    I discovered Philip Pullman this year too. Loved the Golden Compass, but loved the rest of the trilogy even more!


Leave a Reply

