My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Why I’m sitting on an ice pack… January 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 1:14 am

So I'm at dance tonight and we're working on our quick, low, multiple pirouettes.  I'm struggling with them today, but I'm trying.  We're on our last 8 and our last turn and my weight must have been back because all of a sudden I'm out of control and falling.  It was one of those falls that takes forever but there is nothing you can do about it.  I landed square on my tailbone (and a little on my elbow).  And it hurt.  Now the proper human response to this kind of fall is concern, which is what the rest of the class has.  But not my teacher.  No.  Lee Ann claps.  She then proceeds to give a talk to the class about how you can't fall unless your really going for it and that if you've never fallen, you aren't a real dancer.  Throughout this speech, I'm still on the ground and I'm crying because it was one of those very painful falls and I couldn't help but cry.  Plus everyone is looking at me so I'm embarrased which makes me cry more which makes me more embarrassed and so on.  I eventually got up and after a few minutes, I'm back on the floor dancing, but there was no hope for me after that fall.  Yes, it was one of those great moments in life that you hope no one remembers tomorrow.  But I will remember it tomorrow.  I'll remember it everytime I sit on one of those old, wooden law school chairs.  I'm really looking forward to that.

EDIT: I just realized that there is a huge bump on my elbow.  If my elbow is that bad, my tailbone has no hope…I think I'm getting too old for this.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

3 Responses to “Why I’m sitting on an ice pack…”

  1. Carolyn Says:

    That happened to me a few weeks ago too…only I was snowboarding. Someone had fallen off the chairlift in front of me and didn't move out of the way so I fell hard on ice on me tailbone since there wasn't enough room to turn. I feel your pain! I couldn't sit properly for several days 🙂

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I hope you start to feel better. I hate embarrassing moments. A few weeks ago, I got really sick and threw up at work. I was really embarrassed. All the older woman thought I was pregnant. It was nice going to work the next morning, and having everyone ask if I was pregnant.

  3. Michelle Says:

    Well I'm glad I've provided a confessional for recent embarrassing stories. 🙂


Leave a Reply

