My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Water for Elephants March 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 2:19 pm

I finished Water for Elephants the other day and I thought it was fabulous.  I think Gruen did a great job writing the older Jacob.  I really felt for him when he explained how it feels to get old.  And I loved the animals.  It reminded me a little of Life of Pi (she actually says Yann Martel is a great writer in the interview at the end) because the animals were characters.  I really liked Bobo, the chimp, even though he was a minor animal character (chimps and elephants are 2 of my 3 favorite animals – turtles is the third – so it helped me enjoy the book).  The other human characters were nicely done as well.  There are interesting relationships and it all takes place in a culture that is foreign to most of the readers but she does a great job drawing you in.  I also really enjoyed the ending.  I was afraid that I had figured out what was going to happen and it made me very happy to see that it didn't.  The actual ending was much better.

I am now reading The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank (for fun) and Notes from Underground by Fyodor Dostoevsky (for school).

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

2 Responses to “Water for Elephants”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I loved Water for Elephants. One of my favorite books. Glad you enjoyed it.

  2. Phaedrus Says:

    I can't wait to pick it up. Sounds interesting!


Leave a Reply

