My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Books and the Good Life – Part 4: Escapism March 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 6:25 pm

If you guys are getting bored let me know, but until then, I'm going to keep on posting these.

I often feel sorry for people who don't read good books;
they are missing a chance to lead an extra life.
~ Scott Corbett ~

 

Escapism
was a common theme in our seminar.  It
was an answer to a lot of the “why is [insert that week’s topic] good?  Life is hard. 
People need a way to escape or else they will be suffocated by it. 

In
Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series,
people can freely enter and exit the pages of books.  They can interact with the characters and
change the plot.  While we are restricted
to read-only status, we can still get lost in a good book.  There are times when books completely suck us
in and take us away from reality for a short time.  When I was reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I had one of those
experiences.  It was a stormy afternoon
when I curled up on my couch with the book, a blanket, and a cup of tea.  The next thing I knew, I had read 100 pages,
the sun was shining and my abandoned tea had grown cold.  To me, this is the sign of a great book.  For a few hours, I was taken away from my own
life, thoughts, and worries, and transported to another world.

            People are always looking for a way
to escape life.  Some turn to friends,
some to drugs and alcohol, and some to mindless television watching.  I, and many others, turn to books.  When I am sad or lonely, I can sink into a
good book and feel like I am a part of something.  When I am anxious or excited, a book can help
pass the time quickly and enjoyably. 
When I am angry, a book can calm me down.  Sometimes you just need a break from life and
books can provide that relief.

            Books can also give us second
chances.  Many people regret choices they
made in the past or simply wonder what would have happened if their life had
taken a different turn.  Books can give
you a little of that back.  If you chose
to pass up a stint in the military to go to college, you might get pleasure out
of reading war books.  If you feel
smothered by your family obligations, you may enjoy reading romance novels to
feel like you are single again.  We can
be anyone when we read a book.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

5 Responses to “Books and the Good Life – Part 4: Escapism”

  1. Kristie Says:

    I agree with every word you just said. I think one of the reasons I love reading so much is because characters in books have adventures I'll probably never have. I live vicariously through many characters 🙂

  2. Michelle Says:

    More on that idea is to come 😉

  3. Kristie Says:

    Ooo, goody 🙂

  4. Lucia Says:

    [ciò è buono]

  5. That book is amazing.
    End of story.


Leave a Reply

