My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Books and the Good Life – Teaching a Love of Reading April 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 6:01 pm

So apparently, I'm not very good at remembering to do this regularly, but here is the next installment of my paper.  It discusses how we can encourage reading in kids.

We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading.
~B. F. Skinner~

 

I
used to work at an ice cream parlor that was open year round.  As you can imagine, business was pretty slow
during those winter months, so I used to bring books to work with me.  The days that I forgot my book, I would end
up reading whatever I could find, whether that be a Judy Blume novel that
someone left behind years ago or a car magazine from next door.  I hated sitting there with nothing to do, so
I read.  But there were other girls there
who did not read.  They would just sit
and do nothing.  These girls were amazed
that I would come in with a different book everyday, but I was amazed that they
could sit there all day without a book. 
One day, I asked a coworker if she wanted to read a book I had just
finished and she simply told me, “I don’t read.”  I don’t read?!  I was taken aback.  How could someone not read?  After my initial shock, I began to wonder
what made her different from me.  Why do
some people hate to read?

            The obvious answer is that some
people do not read as well as others and thus never learn to enjoy
reading.  I mentioned my father
before.  He has many talents, but reading
has always been hard for him.  As a
result, he does not read a lot of books. 
He tries, but he rarely makes it to the end of a book.  There are many people like this.  Reading
is hard so it is not enjoyable.

            Another possibility is that people
can read well, but their past experiences were not enjoyable so they do not
seek future reading experiences.  I think
a lot of this has to do with the books we are forced to read in school.  We have been forced to read the same books
for decades.  They worked their way into
the canon and now they are stuck there because of tradition.  No tenth grader wants to read A Tale of Two Cities.  It may be a very good book (I would not know
because I was told to read it in tenth grade and was content with the Cliff’s
Notes/movie version of the story), but it will not be appreciated by a bunch of
kids.  There are some books that are
wonderful and should be kept (To Kill a
Mockingbird?
) but reworking the canon would probably be a great way to
create a bigger group of future readers.

            So the first step would be to make
sure that all children learn how to read well. 
Lower elementary programs should focus on this task.  Other governmental programs could supplement
the school’s attempt.  In college, I
volunteered at an elementary school as part of the Detroit Public Schools’ after school
program.  The kids stayed after school to
take part in different programs, and I helped out with the reading program.  These kids read books, took quizzes, and
advanced to new levels.  It was not the
best program, many things could be done to make it better, but it was a start,
especially for a struggling school district like Detroit. 
Parents should also be involved and should encourage good reading habits
in their children.

            The second step would be to make
sure that the reading material is interesting. 
Keep some of the old books, but throw in some contemporary novels.  Show people that there is more to reading
than Victorian literature.  My husband is
a high school English teacher and he is trying to do this within the confines
of Florida’s
mandates.  He still teaches Beowulf and Macbeth, but he tries to expose them to other books and give them
choices.  Last semester he assigned an
outside reading project where the students had to read a multicultural,
contemporary novel of their choice.  This
semester he is assigning The Kite Runner
as mandatory reading along with the traditional books.  He also lets the class vote on which
traditional works they read.  Giving
students a choice makes them care more about the book and the lesson.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

 

5 Responses to “Books and the Good Life – Teaching a Love of Reading”

  1. Kristie Says:

    I read well, but slow. I read in my head the speed I would read if I were saying the words aloud, so sometimes it seems like it's too long. Even though I go slow, I love reading :o)I like what Ben does! Letting kids vote on some options will really make a difference. My senior year of high school Kite Runner became mandatory for my graduating class and I was so happy with it. I'm glad he decided to assign it. I think we should slowly put more contemporary works into the curriculum, keeping a few of the classics (something Shakespeare of course). I think kids would like to read something more relevant to them.

  2. Maria Says:

    We had some pretty irrelevant books to read for school too! Most of them were great, just not appropriate for kids/young adults… I remember most of my classmates dreading the assigned reading and usually they wouldn't read the book. Maybe if the choices were more interesting and appealing to them, they wouldn't think of reading as a chore…
    I noticed that people who don't read tend to have parents who don't read either. My mom loves literature so I grew up in a house full of books, which probably contributed to my love for reading. I guess that children who aren't exposed to that in their early years are less likely to love reading as adults.

  3. Michelle Says:

    I read slowly, too. I basically read like I would say it allowed as well and I think that slows me down. Plus, I feel bad skipping a word or something so I re-read sentences a lot. I do know how to speed read (kinda), but I only do that when I need to get through an assignment.I liked it when we had some choice in high school. I think it makes the whole thing a lot less painful.

  4. Michelle Says:

    I think having parents that read makes a huge difference. Learning by example is great. But even though my parents didn't read that much, just having them encourage me when I discovered I loved it helped.

  5. Lucia Says:

    I always carry a book with me and I read everytime I have to wait or I have nothing to do. I'm working in a library once a week now and it's the only place where I can spend part of my spare time without reading (but wondering around bookshelves 🙂 )!


Leave a Reply

