My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Books and the Good Life: Memories/Emotions April 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 10:58 pm

Disclaimer: this is my least favorite section.  It basically only got in because I had the space.  I think I like the idea but I didn't develop it very well.  Only 3 more sections left. 🙂

I know every book of mine by its
smell, and I have but to put my nose

between the pages to be reminded of all sorts of things. 

~ George Robert Gissing ~

 

One
great thing about books is the ties they have to our real life.  I can remember exactly where I was and what I
was doing when I was reading a certain book. 
When I think of the book or read it again, I always remember that first
time.  I also remember who recommends
books to me.  Because of this, you can
manipulate your emotions by selecting certain books.  If I am feeling nostalgic for my childhood,
I’m likely to pick up Little Women or
Charlotte’s Web.  When I read about the March sisters or
Wilbur, I am taken back to the first time I read about them when I was a
child.  When I miss my grandpa, I pick up
these really bad poetry books that he used to send me.  I never had the heart to tell him that I
never read them.  Now I just read the
post-it notes he attached to each one.  1984 reminds me of a trip to Florida with my best
friend in high school.  Anna Karenina reminds me of the first
few months of my marriage.  James and the Giant Peach reminds me of
my brother.  And the list goes on and on.

We
can also manipulate our emotions by choosing a certain type of book regardless
of what it reminds us of.  If we are sad,
we could read a sad book and have a good cry or pick up a mystery to forget
about our problems.  If we need some cheering
up, a humorous book would be a good choice. 
Books can be used to change moods and states of mind.

I
also find that how or where I am reading a book has an impact on the feelings I
have toward it.  When I can only read a
book in small sections and it takes me a long time to finish, I tend to not
like the book as much.  When I have time
to get really into the book, it is a more pleasant experience.  When I read a book at the beach, I tend to
enjoy it because I am already in a good mood. 
The way that we feel at the moment can impact how we feel about the
book.  Our real life emotions and our
reading emotions are linked to each other in a unique way.  Being aware of this, it is possible to
maximize the reading experience and make it as enjoyable as possible.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

 

6 Responses to “Books and the Good Life: Memories/Emotions”

  1. Lucia Says:

    I can remember where I was and what I was doing when I was reading a certain book too, and I think that influences my re-readings. I always remember I was babysitting my little (he was one month) cousin when I started reading Pride and Prejudice for the first time.

  2. Kristie Says:

    I know this will seem a little weird, but I always read the Celestine Vaite books (Breadfruit, Frangipani and Tiare in Bloom) when I was going to bed at night. My sister would also be listening to music, so now when I hear that music I think of the books 🙂 I can often remember where and what was happening when I read books too.

  3. Maria Says:

    I'm the same way! I was obsessed with a song at the time I was reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and now whenever I hear that song I think of Sirius' death and how sad I was… I think most of the books I read are linked to whatever was going on in my life at that time…

  4. Michelle Says:

    I was into AFI when I was reading Order of the Phoenix and The Leaving Song always reminds me of Harry Potter (and I think it would have been a fitting song to end the movie).

  5. Michelle Says:

    I don't think that's strange at all. I link songs with books all the time.

  6. Lucia Says:

    So do I 🙂 I don't think it's strange.


Leave a Reply

