My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Giving Up Television April 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 1:58 am

I have recently made a lot of changes in my lifestyle.  I've changed my diet – cutting back on meat (see previous post), eating more organic and healthier foods.  I'm attempting to change my consumption behavior to be more environmentally friendly.  I'd also like to switch to more cruelty-free products.  Maybe those will get their own posts someday, but the purpose of this one is to see what you all think about what looks like my newest adventure: giving up television.  Ben and I have been looking for ways to save money and this is what he came up with.  We currently spend about $80/month (just in Florida, I haven't actually been paying for my tv up here).  That includes the HD channels and the DVR.  But we are thinking about getting rid of it all – at least for the summer.  On top of saving money, it would be really good for us.  I tend to just put the tv on and watch for no reason.  It would probably be great for me this summer while I'm studying for the bar.  And it would encourage us to read more which is always a good thing.  We would probably join netflix or blockbuster online again so that we could have some sort of entertainment.  I wasn't sure at first, but I think I could do it.  I think the only thing I will really miss is The Daily Show.  We can't start this until the NHL playoffs are over since Ben HAS to watch them (Go Wings!).  And we may have to get it again once college football season starts although I could just go to the bar every Saturday to watch the Michigan games (which they will most likely be losing anyway this season).

So…it's just in the idea stage right now.  Any comments?  Have any of you given up television?

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

14 Responses to “Giving Up Television”

  1. michelle Says:

    Way to go! I do commend you for doing this. Jonathan and I have talked about doing this, not just to save the measly $16 each month, but to cut out extra "doing nothing" time. I like your idea of doing it for the summer – like a trial-run. I can't wait to hear your updates! 🙂

  2. Danielle Says:

    On the subject of cruelty free products, specifically cleaning products and stuff like hand soap, I hear that Method is a really good brand to get. I've seen it at places like Target and Costco. As far as giving up television, I commend you for it. It's a great idea. I tend to just put the tv on for no reason and let it run as background noise or to watch reruns I've seen a million times, which can't be good as far as energy consumption goes. I've noticed that, in general, television just isn't worth my time anymore. I don't really have a tv series that I follow regularly anymore, since shows like Gilmore Girls (of which I already have the whole series) and Arrested Development are not running anymore. This idea has gotten me thinking that I should cut way back on watching tv. I could be doing so much more instead of it, like reading or studying when I should be. I think I might try out this idea as well, and give myself little rewards when I go a certain time without watching tv, like a new book, haha. Good Post!

  3. Maria Says:

    I think giving up television is a great idea! I used to always have the tv on and I would often sit and watch things I wasn't interested in, just to watch tv… In the last few months I've cut back a lot on the pointless tv-watching and it wasn't that hard! I realised I was wasting a lot of time when I could have been doing more useful things and I'm glad I did it.
    As for the cruelty-free products, I've been using Dr. Fischer's hand soap, shower gel etc, they contain no animal products and aren't tested on animals. You can probably find them in every supermarket and they are the same price as other brands…

  4. Lucia Says:

    I think it is a great idea! My mom and I have been talking a lot about giving up television lately, we're trying to convince my dad now but I don't think we will succeed.I don't watch much television (about 2 or 3 hours a week) mostly because there's almost nothing interesting on, I prefer reading a book! 🙂

  5. Michelle Says:

    Yes – the cost is what prompted us to think about it but the added benefit of not just sitting in front of it and doing nothing for now reason is what made us really consider it.

  6. Michelle Says:

    One of my roommates last summer worked for Method so I am familiar with them. My goal is to switch to them as soon as I run out of what I have.I agree that there is not that much that's good on anymore anyway. I think the reason we never considered it before was for the sports but since we won't be in the Detroit market anymore that won't be a problem.BTW, based on your recent commentsI feel like our views of the world are very similar. I'm glad you joined the book club. 🙂

  7. Michelle Says:

    Thanks for the tip on the Dr. Fisher's products. I think I've heard other good things about them before, too.

  8. Michelle Says:

    That's good that you don't watch that much. I have the tv on quite a bit even if I'm not actually watching it. I heard on the radio the other day that the average American watches 7 hours a day! That's amazing – I don't know where they find time.I will definitely post about cruelty-free products since there seems to be some interest. I found a good list of companies that do not test on animals which I will include so that maybe you'll be able to find them.

  9. michelle Says:

    I tend to have it on in the background too, especially when J's not at home. If I want noise, I should just turn on music!7 hours – holy cow! That's a full-time job! 🙂

  10. artgeek Says:

    I've been sans TV for various portions of my life and found it very enjoyable. Right now I have a preteen in the house, though, and I think there would be violent rebellion if it went away (though maybe he'd just watch stuff on YouTube instead).Like you've considered doing, I often still had a television set and could watch movies. I found that was a different experience than having hundreds of television channels. When I put a movie in, I was immersing myself in an experience and (depending on the film!) a narrative. With television, it tends to be more mindless, more passive (though the DVR is changing that habit, making it so I only sit down in front of the box when I want to watch something, far less numbing flipping through the channels for any distraction).Welcome to Florida, by the way! 🙂

  11. Kristie Says:

    I think it would be a great idea to give up TV. However, my youngest sister has a routine schedule of what she watches (4 hours worth) that are all reruns as soon as she gets home from school. I could do a better job of not watching it because I tend to watch reruns I've seen many times before. Although I know for a fact that when I move out in the future–that'd be moving in with Nick–we'll have a TV. Nick watches TV all the time, or plays video games. So I think I might not watch TV much, but it'll always be there for the TV-addicts to use.

  12. Danielle Says:

    Yeah, I think that our views pretty similar too! Thanks! I'm glad I joined as well! It's nice to find like-minded people who enjoy the things that I do.

  13. Jennifer Says:

    I really don't watch much tv. I only watch One Tree Hill once a week. The tv stays off until Daniel is home. I prefer to read or be on the computer. Computer I could not give up…

  14. Michelle Says:

    I could not give up the computer either (although Best Buy is trying to make me do just that I think). I recently started watching the One Tree Hill reruns on Soapnet and I really like it. I'm somewhere in the middle of the 4th season.


Leave a Reply

