My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

My Life in Florida May 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 1:59 pm

I have been in Florida for about a week and a half now.  I am officially a resident – I have my driver's license and I'm registered to vote here.  The drive went fine after I put $450 into my car the morning that I left.  I needed new front tires, an alignment, and new tire rods.  But I think it made the drive more pleasant.  And I'm just saying that George Bush paid for that one.  My dad drove down with me.  It took us just over 20 hours and we had nice weather for the most part.  There was bad weather passing through Georgia, but it hit when we were stopped for the night.  We did drive by a place where tornadoes had hit a few hours earlier and I had never seen anything like it.  My dad made me take pictures.  It was crazy.  This is I-75, a major US interstate and we were driving in the left breakdown lane because trees were covering all 3 lanes.



Aside from that, the drive was very uneventful.  We did happen to stop for gas by the Armstrong Air & Space Museum so I got a picture of me sitting in a mockup of the Gemini module.  :)  Next to it is part of the actual Apollo spacecraft that went to the moon, but I do not have a picture of that.  Lame, I know.  But you got to do something on a drive that long to make it fun.


So there hasn't been much going on in Florida.  My bar review class starts in June so I am sort of just killing time until then.  I've been to the beach a bit, but the weather hasn't been great so I've really just watched a lot of Dawson's Creek and Lost.

Here are some pictures of the beach by us:

And here is a picture of Clearwater Beach which is about a half-hour drive from our apartment.  I took my dad when he was here.

So that is my life in Florida.  You would think I would be getting a lot of reading done but Mansfield Park is slowing me down a bit.  Hopefully I will finish a book before the month is over.

Next post: graduation

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

 

4 Responses to “My Life in Florida”

  1. Kristie Says:

    Hey, I'm glad you're enjoying Florida! Those pictures of I75 are scary–I would hate to be driving on a highway when a tornado hits. I think it's funny that I75 literally goes from top to bottom of the US…like the Mississippi River ๐Ÿ™‚ I've been to the Neil Armstrong Museum, too. It's really cool. Wapokaneta is the half-way point between my house and my grandparents and when we were little we'd meet them there at the McDonald's right behind to switch cars ๐Ÿ™‚ I've only been in it once though.
    Enjoy your better weather! (It's in the upper 50s, maybe lower 60s here lately)

  2. Michelle Says:

    Thanks. Yeah, in a 1200-mile drive, I spent at least 1100 miles of it on the same highway. Kinda crazy. I thought of you when I drove by Bowling Green.My dad swears that we've been to that museum before but I have know memory of it. It's definitely hotter here, but not really nicer. I've spent most of my time in our air-conditioned apartment.

  3. Kristie Says:

    I'm glad you thought of me ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Lucia Says:

    wow, 20 hours is really a long drive! I've never seen a tornado, it sounds so scaring!


Leave a Reply

