My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Cruelty-free update June 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 12:31 am

I've begun switching to cruelty-free products where I can and I thought I would let you all know what I was using and how it was going.  I discovered a natural food store a few miles away that has a pretty good range of natural and cruelty-free health/beauty products).

Skin care

I've been using Alba Botanica products, specifically the Sea Lettuce Cleansing Milk and the Sea Moss Moisturizer.  I like both products.  I wasn't thrilled with the cleanser at first, but I had also just moved to a new climate so I think my skin needed to adjust.  They are pretty reasonably priced (about $10 for the cleanser and $17 for the moisturizer).

Toothpaste

Kiss My Face is a great cruelty-free brand because it's pretty easy to find.  I just bought my second tube of the Triple Action Aloe Vera toothpaste.  It's very minty – but good mint, not fake mint.  I'm not picky about toothpaste so anything that makes my mouth feel clean makes me happy.  This about $4 or $5.

Make-up

I haven't switched any make-up yet but most of it already consists of free Clinique samples anyway.  Clinique is a cruelty-free company which makes me very happy.  I don't love their skincare line, but I do like their makeup, especially their eye make-up.

Hair care

For haircare I definitely recommend Paul Mitchell products.  My hairdresser introduced me to their Super Skinny line a few years ago and I was hooked.  Unfortunately, my budget won out a little more often than not and I only really splurged for the serum, but I also like the shampoo and conditioner.  If you are like me and one of your goals in life is to have straight hair, the Super Skinny products are a must have.  But I'm sure they have products for your particular hair goals as well.

Cleaning products

And here is where my new addiction comes in: method.  I was first introduced to method when I was in San Francisco – one of my roommates worked there and would constantly bring home products to try-out on our (rather filthy) apartment).  But when I returned to Michigan, I continued to use my toxic cleaners.  Then I moved down here and decided that they all needed to be replaced with method products.  I now have the laundry detergent, toilet-bowl cleaner, dish soap, hand soap, and all-purpose cleaner.  They work great and smell great.  I can't wait to get more and they actually make me enjoy cleaning a little bit.  They are very affordable and available at Target.  They are great for the environment and animals.  If you need more convincing, check out the method lust blog for a real addict's experiences.

And in my final animal-related news.  Due to the aforementioned family drama, I am now the proud owner of the family dog, Mikaila (which everyone in our family spells differently…).  She's flying down on Friday night and I'm very excited to have her again.  We're going to see how she likes the beach this weekend.  This is where I'd normally post a picture, but I don't seem to have one on this computer…

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

4 Responses to “Cruelty-free update”

  1. Carmen Says:

    Oh, do you happen to have a bodyshop around? They have make up and skincare products etc and it's all cruelty free 🙂 it's a bit more expensive, but I really like their things. But I don't know if you have them in America :p and they are now owned by L'oreal I think…

  2. Michelle Says:

    Yeah, we have them here (although I'm not sure where one is now that I've moved). I used to use some of their products. A lot of cruelty-free sites put a * by their name on a list of cruelty-free companies because they are owned by a company that does test on animals. But L'oreal has pledged to go cruelty-free sometime in the near-ish future so that's good news. Although it's probably doing it because the EU is making it, not because it is a good company…

  3. Danielle Says:

    It sounds like you are having no problem with switching to cruelty-free products. I'm glad to hear that it really is pretty easy to do. I'm definitely going to keep all of these products in mind for when I move back into my apartment for the school year!

  4. Michelle Says:

    It was way easier than I thought it would be. And you should have no problem when you're back in the Ann Arbor/Ypsi area. I'm sure it's even easier there what with all the liberal hippie types 😉


Leave a Reply

