My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Reorganization July 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 3:35 pm

Ben and I spent our Thursday evening reorganizing our books (well, our novels).  We've been pruning our collection and swapping the books we don't want with books we do want.  They are now roughly organized by geography.  I posted this on the book club already, but thought I'd share it here as well.

Michigan Authors/Award-winning American authors:

American Lit (and Harry Potter):

Newer American books (paperbacks/hardcovers/YA and Kid's Lit/Chick Lit):

Memoirs/Palahniuk/Vonnegut:

Brit Lit (including Irish and Scottish novels):

South American/Australian/Canadian and Western European novels:

The rest of the world (I know, they don't all belong together…):

Old books from Ben's grandma:

Non-fiction/Religious/Short Stories:

Plays/Poetry/Fantasy:

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

10 Responses to “Reorganization”

  1. michelle Says:

    Oh my goodness – you have a million books!!! How much fun! I like the way you organized them. Do you have them all in 1 room? Or are your bookshelves broken up into different parts of your house?

  2. Michelle Says:

    Well, considering we live in a tiny 600 sq ft apartment, they are pretty much in one room – sort of the living room/dining room/office. A chunk of them are in one corner and then the other bookshelves are spread out. And yes we have a lot of books. I guess that's what happens when you have two avid readers in the family. My husband reads even more than I do.

  3. VaShopaholic Says:

    WOW! That is a ton of books. Amazing. Great Job on the organization. I never thought to organize mine by the type of book they are…mine are done by author's last name…like a library. Great Job Again!

  4. Michelle Says:

    Thanks. I like reorganizing my books. I tend to switch it up when I get bored. I tried to do it alphabetical by author but I didn't like the little books next to the tall books.

  5. Kristie Says:

    You do have a lot of books! I organize my books in a similar way, geographical unless it's a series or one author. But do you do geography by the place the author is from? Because I use it a weird way and use geography by the place the book takes place 🙂

  6. Michelle Says:

    It's by author for the most part, but some of them ended up where they take place (like the Jhumpa Lahiri books) because we didn't pay close enough attention…I like the idea of where they take place though.

  7. Lucia Says:

    I love how you organized your books! They looks amazing! 🙂 I see you have 'Notes from the Underground' by Dostoevsky, what do you think of it? I saw it at library and I'm in the right mood to read something by Dostoevsky now.

  8. Michelle Says:

    Did you notice I actually have 2 versions of Notes form the Underground? 😉 I thought it was pretty good. I actually would recommend The Double over it though. I loved The Double. My Penguin copy has both and is a really good translation if you want to read it in English.

  9. Lucia Says:

    I noticed the 2 copies 😉 Thanks for the recommendation! I worked at library this morning and I checked out both Notes From the Underground and The Double, I can't wait to read them! I'll start with The Double. 🙂

  10. Michelle Says:

    I hope you like it. I recommended it to Ben and he didn't care for it as much as I did. But it was also his first Russian book so maybe that was it.


Leave a Reply

