My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

I’m employed! (and with a job I think I may love) July 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 12:31 am

I got a job as a field organizer with the Obama campaign!  From what I understand of it, I will be managing the volunteers in my county, but I'm still a bit unclear on the whole thing since it happened so fast.  Here's how it happened:

On Thursday, I noticed that a classmate of mine said that he had a job on facebook.  I congratulated him and asked him to send the good job vibes my way.  He then told me that the job was in Florida and if I wanted, he would put me in touch with the woman in charge.  So I emailed my resume to her and later that night she called me.  We talked for about 20 minutes and she basically said that as long as there was a position in my area, I could have it.  The next day, I got a mass email about the job and have since heard that yes, I did in fact get the position.  And in my own county! 

I'm super excited about the position.  It's not a legal position, but I've always wanted to work on a campaign and I might want to get into politics rather than the law anyway.  There are a lot of downsides: it's only for 3 months, it is a ton of hours for relatively little pay, I won't have much time for anything else (like dance, or visitors, or reading…).  But I get to be a part of the greatest presidential campaign of my generation and, since I'm in Florida, I could actually have a real impact on the election.

The job starts Friday.  Only 2 days after the bar exam.  But hey, who needs a vacation, right?

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

6 Responses to “I’m employed! (and with a job I think I may love)”

  1. Wow, how exciting! I'm sure having something like that on your resume will open all sorts of doors for you in future. Will be great experience too. Congratuations.

  2. Emily Says:

    That is awesome!!! How completely amazing and fun! Congratulations! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Danielle Says:

    Oh wow! Congratulations! This will be a great experience for you! Good luck with the job, and with the bar exam as well.

  4. michelle Says:

    Awesome! What an opportunity of a lifetime!

  5. Michelle Says:

    Thanks everyone!

  6. Kristie Says:

    (I'm a few days behind on my voxing) CONGRATS! That would be such a cool job to have! Being an Obama supporter, I'm glad to know someone working on the campaign :o) This election is a big deal and, like you said, Florida is a state that could really make a difference! Good luck with everything you do for it! (And good luck on the bar exam!)


Leave a Reply

