My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

My life before and after November 4th November 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 8:30 pm

So…we won!  Barack Obama is our next president.  And we won Florida and Pinellas County – both of which went for George Bush four years ago.  I couldn't have asked for more.  All I want to do is stare at the little blue Florida and the little blue Pinellas county all day.

I am extremely glad that I had the opportunity to be a part of something so important.  The last 3 months definitely had its ups and downs.  Some times, I was curled up on the office floor crying out of exhaustion and anxiety.  Other times, I was having the time of my life.  I met so many amazing people – co-workers, volunteers, community members.  I am going to remember this forever.  It could possibly be the biggest thing that I am ever a part of.

Here is what Joe Klein had to say in Time magazine about us:

Indeed, there are — an army of them, untold thousands of young
organizers operating out of more than 700 offices nationwide. And they
have delivered a message to Rudy Giuliani, who sneered during the
Republican National Convention that he didn't even know "what a
community organizer is." This is who they are: they are the people who
won this election. They were the heart and soul and backbone of Barack Obama's victory.
They are destined to emerge as the next significant generation of
American political operatives — similar to the antiwar and
antisegregation baby boomers who dominated the Democratic Party after
cutting their teeth on the Bobby Kennedy and Eugene McCarthy campaigns
of 1968, similar to the pro-life, antitax Reaganauts who dominated the
Republican Party and American politics from the election of 1980 …
until now. They are a preview of the style and substance of the Obama
Administration.

I am glad to get back to my life.  Back to friends, family, reading,
ballet, and everything else.  But I am also terrified because I have no
idea what comes next.  I have to choose which direction to take my life
now.  For now, I'm trying to remember how to relax and enjoy our
success.  I'm going on a trip up north in a few days with some of my
fellow organizers and seeing my dad in Boston and my family in
Michigan.  So I guess I can put off some of these decision for a few
weeks.

When I start getting nervous, I just try to remember everything that I
have done so far and how much we actually accomplished here. We elected the president.  Kind of a big deal.

I'm looking forward to catching up with all of you.  I missed you all the last 3 months.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

2 Responses to “My life before and after November 4th”

  1. Emily Says:

    I like the Joe Klein quote!Welcome back! I hope you have a wonderful and relaxing couple of weeks – you deserve a break.

  2. Danielle Says:

    Sounds like you had quite an exciting and exhausting 3 months! I hope that now you can get back in the swing of things and unwind. Great to have you back!


Leave a Reply

