My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

I am very cold December 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 2:24 pm

I can't believe how cold it is in Michigan.  Anything would have felt cold to me but this is ridiculous.  When I left Florida, the days were in the mid-70s and the nights would maybe drop down to 50 degrees.  Here it is currently 5 degrees with a wind chill of -9.  I don't understand why all Michiganders do not move to Florida.

Despite the cold, I'm happy to be home for Christmas.  I couldn't get into the spirit down there.  And we have lots of snow here which feels right (if only it could snow and be warm…).

I'm spending my time visiting with friends and reading Marley and Me.  It was a nice, easy way to start reading again.  I will pick up Kavalier and Clay again soon,

Marley & Me

John Grogan

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

11 Responses to “I am very cold”

  1. Emily Says:

    I know – it's so cold! I couldn't believe it when I got out of the car. It was cold in Hoboken too – but still in the 30s! I love the snow though, but I hope the big snowstorms stop – I'd like to enjoy my vacation and be able to drive places on the roads! :)Enjoy your Christmas and time at home!

  2. Danielle Says:

    It's not any better in Ohio either. It makes me not want to go anywhere, haha. Hope you are enjoying your time with family and friends. Oh, and I'm reading Marley and Me right now as well! 🙂

  3. Kristie Says:

    It's very odd. Nick and I were up in Gaylord and at Boyne Mountain and both days it was about 15, but a friend at home said it was like -20s with the windchill. I don't know how it was so much warmer so far north in Michigan than in SE Michigan and NW Ohio…But I'm glad you're feeling more like Christmas. There's definitely a lot of snow around here.

  4. Michelle Says:

    Glad you made it safely to Michigan. I hope you enjoy your time here as well. 🙂 And it's supposed to warm up a little I think.

  5. Michelle Says:

    I definitely won't be sad to get back to the warm weather next week.How are you liking Marley and Me?

  6. Michelle Says:

    That is strange. I hope you had fun. Did you go skiing/snowboarding?

  7. Kristie Says:

    He went snowboarding. I felt the hills were too advanced for my lack of skiing talents :o) I was going to go tubing, but the hills were closed for some reason. So I just hunkered down in a lodge and read The Count of Monte Cristo for a few hours. We both did stuff we love, so it's okay :o)

  8. Danielle Says:

    I loved the book!Some of the anecdotes reminded me of my own dog, Hudson. I have to say though, at the end, I cried…Have you finished it?

  9. Dominique Says:

    thats no good! We have been getting news reports here about how cold the weather is in america is this year! Stay warm!

  10. Michelle Says:

    I actually learned how to ski at Boyne. It was the one and only time I've ever been. I switched to snowboarding the next time I went. And I haven't done either in years.

  11. Michelle Says:

    I'm about halfway. I haven't found much time for reading the last few days. I've been so busy visiting with friends and getting ready for Christmas. I've heard the end is very sad though.


Leave a Reply

