My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

My Year in Reading January 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 2:19 pm

I read 26 books this year (22 of them before August).  I wanted to beat last year's 46 but life happened and I'm glad that it did.  Here are the books that I read.  The ones in blue are my favorites (hmm…there seem to be a lot of them):

2008: 

1.     A
Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

2.    The
Presentation of Self in Everyday Life by Erving Goffman (for school)

3.    Barchester
Towers by Anthony Trollope (for school)

4.    Persuasion
by Jane Austen

5.    Sense
and Sensibility by Jane Austen (re-read)

6.    The
Quiet American by Graham Greene

7.    Hamlet
by William Shakespeare (re-read)(for school)

8.    Middlesex
by Jeffery Eugenides

9.    Water
for Elephants by Sara Gruen

10.  Notes
from Underground by Fyodor Dostoevsky (for school)

11.   The
Double by Fyodor Dostoyevsky (for school)

12.  The
Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Band

13.  Snow
Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See

14.  The
Host by Stephanie Meyer

15.  Mansfield
Park by Jane Austen

16.  The
Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

17.  Bluebeard
by Kurt Vonnegut

18.  The
Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

19.  A
Long Way Down by Nick Hornby

20. Lies…
by Al Franken

21.  People
of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

22. Lost
in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde

23. Breaking
Dawn by Stephanie Meyer

24. Emma
by Jane Austen

25. The
Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde

26.  I
Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

 

Maybe I will do a more detailed post later (I really liked Emily's post last year and I may have to copy her).

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

 

Leave a Reply

