My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Daytona and DC January 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 11:34 pm

Tomorrow, I head to Daytona Beach for a conference.  I will apparently learn all about being a labor and employment plaintiff's lawyer.  I am looking forward to it because I am interested in learning as much as I can and it will be nice to meet other lawyers who do the same thing.

Then, on Sunday, we are flying (out of Orlando since we'll be on that side of the state and it's cheaper) to Washington, DC for Barack Obama's Inauguration.  The Inaugural Committe gave 2 tickets to each campaign staffer (which is pretty awesome if you think about it). 

The tickets, including the Staff Ball tickets which I can't actually go to.  I decided against purchasing any other official ball tickets (go ahead, yell at me – everyone else has).

The front and back of the swearing-in tickets:

DSCN0010DSCN0011

They're actually pretty cool tickets.  Sparkly and everything.  I hope that we get to keep them.  We are in the purple section which means we are in the back corner, but I don't really care.  I just want to be there.

There is a Florida staff party Sunday night and a bunch of my law school friends will be in town on top of all my campaign friends so I'm looking forward to seeing everyone.  It's hard to believe the election was over 2 months ago and we're already at the inauguration.  Doesn't it feel like we've been waiting for Jaunary 20, 2008 for a loooong time and then the last few months just flew by?

I will share my inauguration adventures when I return next week.  🙂

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

 

5 Responses to “Daytona and DC”

  1. michelle Says:

    We were almost going!! My sister-in-law works for a Congressman and she's in charge of giving out the tickets….she tried to get us a few… It would be so awesome to experience it!

  2. Kristie Says:

    Have fun!!! I'm going to have to tape it (old school, on a VHS) to watch later because I'm going to be in class til 9pm :o( The most important inauguration in a long time, most important to me, and I can't even watch it live…I'm sad

  3. Michelle Says:

    You should have gone anyway. Just to be in the atmosphere. You're not that far right? You could make a spur of the moment trip.

  4. Michelle Says:

    You're a much better student than I am. I would skip class to watch. 🙂 We're recording it too so that we can watch the tv version when we get home.

  5. Kristie Says:

    Well, my Tuesday is a seminar and it is only once a week so I pretty much have to go. And plus, my teacher is awesome and it'd only be the 2nd week of school lol


Leave a Reply

