My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Northanger Abbey May 9, 2009

Filed under: Book Review — Michelle @ 10:21 am

I spent a wonderful morning in bed finishing this book.  I really enjoyed it.  It was fun and light and full of sarcasm.  Poor Catherine- so naive and gullible that people take advantage of her.  Yet this made me love her even more.  And it was refreshing to read a Jane Austen novel where people are basically as they seem (to the reader at least if not to Catherine).  Henry Tilney did not turn into a Wickham or a Willoughby.  Isabella and John were transparent from the start.  General Tilney might have been the only character that was somewhat difficult to discern – but learning his motivations at the end were not surprising.

And I love the effect of Catherine’s overactive imagination.  It may have caused some embarrasment to her, but it was entertaining.  And I’m one of those peope who can’t watch horror films because of the effect they have on my imagination when I try to go to bed that night.

I’m happy and sad that this was my last Jane Austen novel.  I love her style, humor, and ability to capture the feelings each character has in their interactions with one another.  I also love how visible she as a narrator was toward the end of this novel.  This doesn’t work in some novels, but it does here.

Having read all 6 novels, I believe my order of preference is:
1. Sense and Sensibility
2. Pride and Prejudice
3. Northanger Abbey
4. Persuasion
5. Emma
6. Mansfield Park

Mansfield part is a distant sixth.  I really didn’t care for it.  But the other 5 I love and I know that order will change as I go back and re-read them all and decide I love the one I just finished the most.

Finishing NA also meant that I achieved my goal of clearing my nightstand.  🙂

Unaccustomed Earth
Jhumpa Lahiri

I’m now reading Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri along with War and Peace.

[Originally posted at michellen.vox.com.  For the original post and comments, click here]

 

Leave a Reply

