My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

The Book Depository August 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 1:39 am

Dominique mentioned the good deals she'd found at the Book Depository so I thought I would check it out.  It has fantastic book prices and free shipping anywhere in the whole world!  Today, I bought The Elegence of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery, Shelf Discovery by Lizzie Skurnick, and The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordin for $18.96.  It was such a good deal that I wanted to pass it on to all of you book lovers out there who may not know about it.  🙂

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

 

9 Responses to “The Book Depository”

  1. Hey Michelle, thanks — I pulled up my Amazon cart right next to the Book Depository and matched books and prices. The Depository didn't have all the ones I wanted, but the books they had are cheaper.I just sent off an order, including
    The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson — I loved the Tatoo one.Thanks for the heads up.btw, I'll be starting the Hedgehog book in about a week.

  2. Danielle Says:

    Thank you for sharing! Looks like a great site!

  3. Dominique Says:

    Hahaha I've converted you ;)I never buy books anywhere else now. I have to times the pound by two to get the price I pay for stuff, cos the Aussie dollar is .5 ish of a pound, and the books are still so much cheaper than here. New books cost roughly $25 – $30AU here but they average $15 AU on BD. Sometimes I go to Borders specifically to walk around looking for things I might want to buy from BD!

  4. Michelle Says:

    Supposedly, if they don't carry the title or it's cheaper on amazon, they give you the amazon link. I haven't wandered around the site enough to verify that claim.

  5. Michelle Says:

    Well thank you for converting me. 🙂 Although this could cause me to buy more books so I may not be thanking you when I get overwhelmed by all the books I still have to read.

  6. I LOVE Book Depository. I use the co.uk address but think it is the same site. It is especially good for UK titles. I buy a lot of my kids' Enid Blyton and Jacqueline Wilson books on there and also use it to send presents to my nieces and nephew overseas.

  7. Emily Says:

    I just discovered this about a month ago myself, and I love it! Amazon US is still usually cheaper for me since the dollar stinks, but I sometimes like to get British editions and this was a lot cheaper than Amazon UK because of the free shipping. I ordered the paperback of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows from BD, and I also got a really cute copy of Great Expectations. I might buy more classics there too, because they have the cute yellow covered Penguin classics that are very cheap. Glad you like the site too!

  8. Vishy Says:

    This is really cool! I can't believe that the shipping is free worldwide! I haven't checked the titles that are available in the Book Depository yet, but I think I am going to buy a lot of books from here soon 🙂 Thanks for the information and the post!

  9. Dominique Says:

    Also, I didn't realise this but the newsletters often have coupons in them. I didn't notice there was a newsletter, I just joined the site without signing up for it. The current offer is 10% off all books until September 10th, see:http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/btsnews?utm_source=NL-Body&utm_medium=email-Newsletter&utm_term=Voucher-Code&utm_content=newsletter-exclusive&utm_campaign=Newsletter-August-09


Leave a Reply

