My Books. My Life.

"Let us read and let us dance – two amusements that will never do any harm to the world." ~Voltaire~

Quantity v. Quality September 29, 2009

Filed under: Chatter — Michelle @ 3:32 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve been reading a lot of blogs lately and I’ve come to one conclusion: book bloggers read a lot of books.  I mean a lot.  Like 200, 300, 400 books per year.  Now I just finished my 29th book of the year.  It hasn’t been my best year ever but I’ve never even come close to three digits.

But these are hardcore book bloggers, can normal people read this much? It turns out they can.  I do read rather slowly so I went to my best friend from law school, Susan.  She’s a very quick reader and I knew she read a fair amount so I thought she would be a good real life person to ask.  She said, and I quote, “I haven’t been reading as much as I used to, but I’d think I still read 200 – 300 books per year. You?”

Susan and I are both attorneys working roughly the same amount of hours each week.  She has an active social calendar, a new house to work on, and she watches at least some television.  Why is she reading 10 times the amount of books I am?  Her answer: “I think you get more depth and detail from them.”

So I started thinking.  Can you read 400 books each year and get as much out of them as you would if you only read 40?  I don’t know the answer and I certainly don’t want to judge those readers.  I can’t imagine ever reading that much, but everyone is different and my reading style is not anyone else’s reading style.

Or maybe I just watch too much television.

I’d love to hear other thoughts.

[Originally posted at michellen.vox.com.  For the original post and comments, click here.]

 

Leave a Reply

